Skip to main content


Kristy Ainslie, PhD

The Ainslie Lab focuses on modulation of immune responses to prevent and treat cancer, infectious and autoimmune diseases.

Owen Fenton, PhD

The Fenton Lab seeks to develop synthetic drug delivery platforms using RNA therapeutics.


Shawn Hingtgen, PhD

The Hingtgen Lab develops engineered stem cell-based therapies for brain cancers and other tumors.

Yevgeny Brudno, PhD

The Brudno lab develops technologies to deliver drugs to disease sites, sparing patients from gruesome and toxic side effects.


Alexander “Sasha” Kabanov, PhD

The Kabanov Lab focuses on nanomedicines for delivery of small drugs, nucleic acids and polypeptides to treat cancers and diseases of the central nervous system.


Sam Lai, PhD

The Lai Lab focuses on infectious diseases at mucosal surfaces, targeted drug delivery and nanoparticle-immune interactions.


Juliane Nguyen, PhD

The Nguyen Lab focuses on developing genetically encoded and genetically engineered biotherapeutics for the treatment of cancer, myocardial infarction, colitis, and other diseases.


Mark Schoenfisch, PhD

The Schoenfisch Lab focuses on designing macromolecules for nitric oxide release and detection, glucose monitoring devices for diabetes and superhydrophobic interfaces.

Learn more about Pharmacoengineering and Molecular Pharmaceutics


Soumya Rahima Benhabbour, PhD

UNC/NCSU Joint Department of Biomedical Engineering at UNC Chapel Hill

Dr. Benhabbour’s research focuses on the development of novel delivery platforms and polymer-based devices that can treat or prevent disease.


Paul Dayton, PhD

UNC/NCSU Joint Department of Biomedical Engineering at UNC Chapel Hill

Dr. Dayton is the William R. Kenan Distinguished Professor of Biomedical Engineering, and Chair of the Joint UNC-NCSU Department of Biomedical Engineering.


Gianpietro Dotti, MD

Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center Immunotherapy Program

Dr. Dotti is a research professor of microbiology and immunology at UNC and Director of the Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center Immunotherapy Program.


Zongchao Han, PhD

UNC’s School of Medicine Department of Ophthalmology

Dr. Han specializes in gene and drug delivery for retinal diseases.

Wei-Li Lin

Weili Lin, PhD

Biomedical Research Imaging Center 

Dr. Lin’s is the Dixie Lee Boney Soo Distinguished Professor of Neurological Medicine and Director of the Biomedical Research Imaging Center (BRIC) at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.


Eric Bachelder, PhD

Dr. Eric Bachelder focuses on the development of biomaterials for the treatment of diseases associated with the immune system.


Elena Batrakova, PhD

The main focus of Dr. Elena Batrakova’s research is to develop a CNS delivery system for neurodegenerative disorders, such as Parkinson’s and Alzheimer’s diseases.

Jillian Perry Image 2

Jillian Perry, PhD

Dr. Jillian Perry leverages her knowledge of polymer chemistry, biomaterials, and drug delivery to develop novel drug delivery carriers for the treatment of cancer and infectious diseases.


Marina Sokolsky-Papkov, PhD

Dr. Marina Sokolsky-Papkov’s current research centers on design of nano-based, sustained release and remote actuated drug delivery systems for treatment and diagnosis of cancer.


John Fallon, PhD

Dr. John Fallon’s research focuses on quantitative targeted proteomics (QTAP) using nano- and microLC-MS/MS.

Lindsay Androski, CFA

Lindsay Androski, JD, MBA, CFA is Founder, President and CEO of Roivant Social Ventures, a social impact organization that makes early stage investments & incubates biotechs, with an emphasis on cell & gene therapies.

Edward Moreira Bahnson, PhD

Dr. Edward Bahnson’s research program focuses on the study of arterial disease, and developing new therapies to treat cardiovascular disease.

Ken Brouwer, PhD, RPh

Dr. Ken Brouwer is Vice President of Technology, ADME-TOX at BioIVT, and has successfully lead and directed large international multidisciplinary project teams to support the product development of high priority development candidates.

Ke Cheng, PhD

Dr. Ke Cheng is the Randall B. Terry, Jr. Distinguished Professor in Regenerative Medicine in the Department of Molecular Biomedical Sciences at NC State University and in the UNC/NCSU joint Department of Biomedical Engineering.

David A. Zaharoff, PhD

Dr. David Zaharoff’s Lab focuses on the development of translatable immunotherapy delivery platforms. They use a multidisciplinary approach to engineer biomaterials-based and technology-driven localized immunotherapy strategies.

Geoffery Hird, PhD

Dr. Geoffrey Hird is the Chief Technology Officer at Glycomine and has more than 20 years of experience in all stages of pharmaceutical product development having held positions at Eisai, GSK, and Liquidia Technologies.

Kazunori Kataoka, PhD

Prof. Dr. Kazunori Kataoka is the Center Director of Innovation Center of NanoMedicine (iCONM), which is operated by Kawasaki Institute of Industrial Promotion. He is also an Emeritus Professor of the University of Tokyo.


Andrew Satterlee, PhD

Dr. Andrew Satterlee is associate director of the Brain Slice Technology Platform at UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy.

Qi-Long Lu, PhD

Dr. Lu is Director of the McColl-Lockwood Laboratory for Muscular Dystrophy Research at Atrium Health. His main research interests are experimental therapies for limb girdle muscular dystrophies and is considered one of the world’s leading experts studying LGMD2i.

Lesley Marson, PhD

Dr. Lesley Marson was most recently Director of Sexual Health Research at Urogenix Inc. Prior to that she held the position of Professor in the Urology Division of the Department of Surgery, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.

Natalia Klyachko, PhD

Dr. Natalia Klyachko, from Lomonosov Moscow State University has seasoned expertise in nanotechnology, drug delivery, and physics.

Anthony Hickey, PhD

Dr. Hickey directs UNC Catalyst for Rare Disease, and is an RTI distinguished fellow in and program director for inhaled therapeutics.

Michael Jay, PhD

Dr. Jay’s research projects have centered on the interface between the pharmaceutical and nuclear sciences, involving the application of pharmaceutical approaches to solve problems related to nuclear imaging and therapy.

Rudolph Juliano, PhD

Dr. Juliano is one of the founders of Initos Pharmaceuticals, is an expert on oligonucleotide-based therapeutics, and is the originator of the OEC technology.

Xiao Xiao, PhD

Dr. Xiao’s work on muscular dystrophy, especially Duchenne muscular dystrophy, has received international recognition.

Garrett Bethmann

Garrett Bethmann is the Executive Assistant for DPMP.

Virginia Beall

Virginia Beall is the Administrative Assistant for DPMP.