Martin, Hanafin Win Presidential Trainee Awards from ASCPT

March 4, 2019

Two students from the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy were awarded the Presidential Trainee Award from the American Society for Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics. Jesse Martin and Patrick Hanafin were among the 17 recipients of the award, which recognizes the top scoring abstracts submitted by clinical pharmacologists in training. Martin also received the ASCPT Jason Morrow Trainee Award for the second-highest scoring trainee abstract submitted. The award includes a $1,000 prize. Both students will be recognized and receive their awards at the ASCPT Annual Meeting in March in Washington, DC. Martin is a third-year Pharm.D. student in the Research and … Continued

GPS Program Brings London Student to UNC for Research Experience

June 4, 2018

Li Xian Ng, a student at the University College London School of Pharmacy, came to the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy for a three-month research rotation as part of the School’s Global Pharmacy Scholars program. The exchange program allows students from UCL to travel to North Carolina to work with professors at the School and sends UNC pharmacy students to London for research there. Ng worked in the lab of Gauri Rao, Pharm.D., M.S., studying pharmacokinetic modeling and antibiotic dose optimization. Rao is an assistant professor in the Division of Pharmacotherapy and Experimental Therapeutics. “Dr. Rao was a great help … Continued

Pharm.D. RASP Students Win National Research Grants

November 9, 2017

Amy Lin and Kevin Straughn, both third-year Pharm.D. candidates, have won nationally competitive research grants. Both students are members of the Research and Scholarship in Pharmacy program, a pathway in the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy built around a mentored, in-depth scholarly project. Lin was awarded the American Foundation for Pharmaceutical Education’s Gateway to Research Scholarship. Her project is titled, “Developing Hippeastrine Derivatives to Treat and Understand Zika Virus Infection.” Her mentor is Qisheng Zhang, Ph.D., and her award was $5,000. Straughn was awarded the American College of Clinical Pharmacy Research Institute’s Futures Grant Student and Resident Investigator Award. His … Continued

Gauri Rao Joins DPET as Assistant Professor

October 11, 2016

Gauri Rao, Pharm.D., M.S., has joined the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy as a tenure-track assistant professor in the Division of Pharmacotherapy and Experiential Education. Rao’s principal research interests surround quantitative systems pharmacology, and she is working to understand the processes of infectious diseases, specifically how the infecting pathogen and host immune system interact with each other. Her work is extending the knowledge of complex host-pathogen interactions and perturbations imposed by therapeutic interventions during a time of increasing bacterial resistance, a diminishing antibiotic drug pipeline and lack of viable treatment options for infections due to highly drug resistant bacteria. Prior … Continued