Skip to main content

Juliane Nguyen promoted to full professor and honored with Controlled Release Society Award

July 31, 2023

Juliane Nguyen, Ph.D., has been promoted to full professor in the Division of Pharmacoengineering and Molecular Pharmaceutics (DPMP) at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy where she also serves as vice chair and director of graduate admissions.  “I’m grateful for this promotion, and I truly believe it’s a testament to the incredible efforts of the outstanding students, postdocs and collaborators I’ve had the privilege of working with at Carolina and the University at Buffalo. I’m excited to continue our work to create safer and more effective treatment options for patients, ultimately enhancing their quality of life,” said Nguyen.  Nguyen is … Read more

Shawn Hingtgen promoted to full professor

July 31, 2023

Shawn Hingtgen, Ph.D., has been promoted to full professor in the Division of Pharmacoengineering and Molecular Pharmaceutics (DPMP) at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy. He holds a joint appointment as an assistant professor in the Department of Neurosurgery at the UNC School of Medicine.  “Being promoted to full professor is the culmination of years of hard work and dedication to the profession. It speaks to the truly amazing team and family around me that enabled this to happen. It means that I can keep innovating and translating new discoveries that have the potential to improve the lives of cancer … Read more

Ronny Bell brings lifelong commitment to health equity in UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy role

January 18, 2023

New leader has a distinguished career in population science, community-based participatory research and a resolve to identify solutions for health equity issues in North Carolina’s underserved populations   Ronny Bell, Ph.D., M.S., brings a unique background to a role that encompasses three areas of responsibility: chair and distinguished faculty in the Division of Pharmaceutical Outcomes and Policy (DPOP) in the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy, Senior Advisor to the UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center, and collaborator with the UNC American Indian Center. Bell brings an affinity for hard work, a servant leader mindset, a deep experience in higher education and … Read more

Division of Pharmacotherapy and Experimental Therapeutics welcomes two team members

July 12, 2019

Two new faculty members joined the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy’s Division of Pharmacotherapy and Experimental Therapeutics on July 1. Get to know Benyam Muluneh, Pharm.D., BCOP, CPP, and Klarissa Jackson, Ph.D.: Q: What is your hometown?      Benyam: Addis Ababa, Ethiopia      Klarissa: Tyler, Texas Q: What are you looking forward to about your new role?      Benyam: I am looking forward to contributing to the teaching and scholarship missions at the School with the ultimate goal of improving the lives of patients. I am excited about collaborators and mentors within the Eshelman School of Pharmacy in … Read more

Students Select 2019 Best Instructors; Phil Rodgers Wins Top Award

May 2, 2019

Pharm.D. students at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy selected the Instructor of the Year award winners for 2018-19, honoring the winners at the annual awards ceremony on April 13. The Instructor of the Year award recognizes one course instructor from each year of the Pharm.D. curriculum who demonstrates the highest qualities of instructional ability and an interest in both the students and the educational programs of the school. Overall Instructor of the Year Award: Philip Rodgers, Pharm.D. PY3 Instructor of the Year Award: Kathryn Morbitzer, Pharm.D., M.S. PY2 Instructor of the Year Award: Suzanne Harris, Pharm.D. PY1 Instructor of … Read more

Beaudoin, Vogt Earn NIH Predoctoral Research Grants

March 27, 2019

Two Ph.D. candidates at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy recently received National Research Service Awards from the National Institutes of Health. Jim Beaudoin, from the Division of Pharmacotherapy and Experimental Therapeutics, and Caleb Vogt, from the Division of Chemical Biology and Medicinal Chemistry, received the NRSA grants. Beaudoin is advised by Kim Brouwer, Pharm.D., Ph.D., and Vogt is advised by Jeff Aubé, Ph.D. The NIH grant, known also as an F31, is awarded to promising predoctoral students so that they can obtain individualized, mentored research training while conducting dissertation research. Beaudoin’s research project will investigate organic solute transporter α/β, … Read more

UNC Study Reveals Precision Oncology Insights for Colorectal Cancer

March 25, 2019

Next-generation sequencing of tumor DNA from patients with colorectal cancer revealed genetic alterations that were linked to different survival and treatment outcomes in an analysis led by a researcher at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy. The findings, published in the Journal of Clinical Oncology, could help define strategies to more effectively treat colorectal cancer, the second leading cause of cancer death in the United States. “This is an example of precision oncology, where using genetics, we are able to stratify tumor types that we once believed were homogeneous, and to identify new patient subgroups that might benefit from tailored therapies,” … Read more

Josh Guffey Named Director of Office of Continuing Education

March 22, 2019

Josh Guffey, Pharm.D., has been named director of the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy Office of Continuing Education. Guffey is currently the director of pharmacy education at the Charlotte Area Health Education Center/Carolinas Medical Center, where he has extensive experience in pharmacy education and continuing education. He also holds a faculty appointment in the Division of Practice Advancement and Clinical Education. Guffey will continue his work at the Charlotte AHEC and will spend part of his time as the director of the Office of Continuing Education at the School. In this new role, Josh will lead the vision, creation, implementation and assessment of … Read more

Mucommune Receives Over $3M to Advance Muco-Trapping Antibodies

March 20, 2019

Mucommune LLC has been awarded over $3 million in five separate federal grants over the past several months to advance its muco-trapping antibody technology. The company was launched in 2016 by Sam Lai, Ph.D., an associate professor at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy. The muco-trapping antibody technology advanced by Mucommune is based on engineering the Fc region of IgG antibodies to interact with mucins. Tuning the Fc region to combine with mucins enables antibodies to immobilize viral and bacterial pathogens in different mucosal secretions, including respiratory airways, GI tract and female reproductive tract. Once the pathogens are trapped in … Read more

Gurysh Receives NIH F32 Grant for Brain Cancer Research

March 18, 2019

Elizabeth Gurysh, Ph.D., received a National Research Service Award from the National Institutes of Health to support her brain cancer research. Gurysh is a postdoctoral researcher working in the lab of Kristy Ainslie, Ph.D., at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy. Ainslie is an associate professor in the Division of Pharmacoengineering and Molecular Pharmaceutics. Gurysh is researching a combination therapy of stem cells and drug-eluting scaffolds to prevent recurrence of glioblastoma, the most common and aggressive form of brain cancer. Glioblastoma is usually treated with surgery followed by radiation or chemotherapy. However, due to glioblastoma’s tentacle-like growth, it is extremely … Read more