Blouin Selected as Recipient of ACCP Paul F. Parker Medal

August 19, 2016

Robert “Bob” Blouin, Pharm.D., dean of the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy and the Vaughn and Nancy Bryson Distinguished Professor, has been selected as the 2016 recipient of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy’s Paul F. Parker Medal for Distinguished … Continued

Rob McGinty, Ph.D., M.D.

Rob McGinty Joins CBMC as Assistant Professor

August 3, 2016

Rob McGinty, M.D., Ph.D., has joined the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy as an assistant professor in the Division of Chemical Biology and Medicinal Chemistry. He also has a joint appointment in the Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics. McGinty’s principal … Continued

Angela Kashuba

Kashuba Named 2017 ACCP Frontiers Lecturer

July 29, 2016

Angela Kashuba, Pharm.D., has been selected as the 2017 American College of Clinical Pharmacy Therapeutic Frontiers Lecturer. Kashuba, the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy’s John A. and Deborah S. McNeill Jr. Distinguished Professor, is the chair of the Division of … Continued

Sam Lai, Ph.D.

Sam Lai Promoted to Associate Professor

July 27, 2016

Sam Lai, Ph.D., has been promoted to associate professor with tenure in the Division of Molecular Pharmaceutics. Lai’s research focuses on mucosal immunology and mucosal barriers to infectious disease, antibody response to synthetic materials, targeted nanoparticle delivery using bispecific fusion … Continued

Jerry Heneghan

Jerry Heneghan Gives Keynote at Serious Play Conference

July 27, 2016

Jerry Heneghan, M.B.A., delivered the keynote address at this year’s Serious Play Conference, hosted by the UNC Kenan-Flagler Business School from July 25-28. Global thought leaders in the field of serious games and simulations descended on the University of North … Continued

Spending on specialy drugs

Spending on Expensive Specialty Drugs Triples since 2003

July 6, 2016

Specialty drugs are a relatively small part of total prescriptions filled at the pharmacy, but they are a dramatically increasing part of total prescription spending. A new study from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill reveals that just … Continued

Daniels and Savage

UNC Health Care Promotes Pharmacy Leaders Daniels and Savage

June 16, 2016

Rowell Daniels, Pharm.D., and Scott Savage, Pharm.D., both faculty members at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy, have been promoted to new leadership position at UNC Hospitals and Clinics. Daniels, the executive associate dean for pharmacy clinical practice and an … Continued


Joel Farley Promoted To Full Professor

June 3, 2016

Joel Farley, Ph.D., has been promoted to full professor in the Division of Pharmaceutical Outcomes and Policy. Farley joined the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy in 2006 as an assistant professor in the department and was named an associate professor … Continued

Hollis hospital

Hollis and Sauls Win 2016 Paoloni Preceptor Awards

May 13, 2016

Ian Hollis, Pharm.D., and Amy Sauls, Pharm.D., were awarded Claude Paoloni Preceptor of the Year Awards at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy 2016 Award Ceremony on April 24. The awards are given annually the the School’s top health care-systems … Continued

Children regularly miss out on receiving counseling from a pharmacist about their medications, according to a study led by Delesha Carpenter, Ph.D., M.S.P.H.

Pharmacists Missing Chance to Counsel Children, UNC Study Finds

May 12, 2016

Children receiving a prescription medication should be counseled directly by a health care professional, recommends the Institute of Medicine and United States Pharmacopeia. But that’s not happening, according to a new study led by the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy. … Continued

Mollie Scott, Pharm.D.

Mollie Scott Named ASHP Fellow

May 2, 2016

Mollie Scott, Pharm.D., has been named a fellow of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists in recognition of the excellence she has achieved in pharmacy practice. Scott is the School’s regional associate dean for the Asheville satellite campus and a … Continued


Costs for Orally Administered Cancer Drugs Skyrocket

April 28, 2016

New cancer drugs taken in pill form have become dramatically more expensive in their first year on the market compared with drugs launched 15 years ago, a University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill study has found. The findings call … Continued

Jo Ellen Rodgers, Pharm.D.

Rodgers Updates Guide for Heart Failure Patients

April 20, 2016

Jo Ellen Rodgers, Pharm.D., associate professor at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy and Carla A. Sueta, M.D., Ph.D., professor in the Division of Cardiology at UNC School of Medicine, have recently completed a fourth edition of their heart failure … Continued