Award Powers Students’ MTM Initiative at Local Clinic

March 2, 2010

The Carolina Association of Pharmacy Students at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy is the recipient of a $2,000 Project CHANCE award from the American Pharmacists Association to provide medication-therapy-management services at a local health clinic. The grant will allow pharmacy … Continued

UNC Students Appointed to APhA-ASP Posts

February 25, 2010

Three PharmD students at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy were recently selected for positions with the American Pharmacists Association Academy of Student Pharmacists. Paul Cubita, a third-year student, has been selected as a member of the APhA-ASP National Nominating … Continued

Sherket Peterson

NIH Funds Grad Student’s Enzymatic Inhibitions

February 25, 2010

Sherket Peterson, a graduate student in the Division of Medicinal Chemistry and Natural Products, has received an NIH award worth approximately $100,000 over three years to support her efforts to create an inhibitor for the enzyme heparanase. “In our lab, … Continued

Mary Roth McClurg, Pharm.D., M.H.S.

Roth McClurg Appointed to ACCP Research Institute Board

February 10, 2010

Mary Roth McClurg, PharmD, has been appointed to a two-year term on the board of trustees of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy Research Institute. She is an associate professor in the Division of Pharmaceutical Outcomes and Policy. The Research … Continued

Rho Chi Inducts New UNC Members

February 5, 2010

The University of North Carolina chapter of the Rho Chi Society, national academic honor society of pharmacy, has inducted new members. They are Elizabeth Lynn Alford, Janet Arrazcaeta, Xuefang Bai, Robert Michael Bero, Kynlon Phillips Caruso, Divya Vinod Chandiramani, Ryon … Continued

Stephen Eckel

Eckel, Marciniak Named APhA Fellows

February 4, 2010

Stephen Eckel, PharmD, and Macary Weck Marciniak, PharmD, faculty members in the Division of Pharmacy Practice and Experiential Education, have been named fellows of the American Pharmacists Association. They will be honored at the APhA Annual Meeting and Exposition on … Continued

Sleath Named Interim Chair of DPOP

January 20, 2010

Professor Betsy Sleath, PhD, has been named the interim chair of the Division of Pharmaceutical Outcomes and Policy at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy. She will officially assume the position’s duties on March 1. Mick Murray, PharmD, MPH, is … Continued

Lisa Dinkins

Dinkins Honored for One-to-One Patient Care

January 13, 2010

When a customer showed up with fifteen new prescriptions and old medication bottles for his mother, who was too sick to come to the pharmacy, Lisa Dinkins, PharmD, compared the prescriptions with the patient’s old medications to check for problems … Continued

Angela Kashuba

NIAID Grant Launches Kashuba’s Plan for HIV-Prevention Trials

December 18, 2009

Development of an AIDS vaccine is struggling. Topical treatments aimed at stopping HIV have made little progress. Angela Kashuba, PharmD, believes that antiretroviral drugs are the best hope for halting the spread of AIDS, especially in the developing world. “I … Continued

Peter Gal

Gal, Koval Receive Grants for Second Life Projects

December 10, 2009

Peter Gal, PharmD, and Pete Koval, PharmD, faculty members in the Division of Pharmacy Practice and Experiential Education, have received Lenovo Innovation Grants from the UNC Center for Faculty Excellence to develop projects in Second Life to help students in real … Continued