Mark Patterson, a graduate student in the Division of Pharmaceutical Policy and Evaluative Sciences, has been selected to receive the American Foundation for Pharmaceutical Education’s Pre-doctoral Fellowship, beginning in September 2005.

The AFPE Fellowship is awarded to outstanding pre-doctoral students who have completed at least three semesters of graduate study in pharmaceutical sciences at a U.S. school or college of pharmacy. Patterson’s project, “Effect of Copayments on Medication Persistence in a Commercially Insured Population with Heart Failure,” is directed by Mick Murray, professor and chair of the Division of Pharmaceutical Policy and Evaluative Sciences.

Other School of Pharmacy AFPE Pre-doctoral Fellows are Giulia Ghibellini, Brian Keppler, Mary Peace McRae, Joshua Thorpe and Troy Trygstad.


Leandra Miko, a first-year PharmD student, has received a 2005 Gateway to Research Scholarship from AFPE.

The purpose of the scholarship is to increase the number of students who undertake a faculty-mentored research program and decide to enroll in graduate programs leading to a PhD in pharmaceutical sciences, resulting in a career in industry, on faculties at schools and colleges of pharmacy, or in related organizations .

Miko will work with M.J. Cho, associate professor in the Division of Drug Delivery and Disposition.


John Byrd, a graduate student in the Division of Pharmaceutical Policy and Evaluative Sciences, has received a Carolina Program in Health Care and Aging Research (CPHAR) pre-doctoral fellowship from the UNC Institute on Aging.

The IOA CPHAR pre-doctoral training program gives fellows the opportunity to apply basic disciplinary training to concrete problems in health care and aging research. CPHAR and the IOA will give trainees intellectual and infrastructural support, encouragement, career guidance, and multidisciplinary mentoring as their dissertation research is conceptualized, designed, executed, and defended.

The program is funded by a national research service award from the National Institute on Aging.

Leave a Reply