Skip to main content
Featured Featured News Grants and Awards News Research Sidebar Featured News, Kim Brouwer
Mariava Phillips
April 3, 2024

Kim Brouwer, Pharm.D., Ph.D., receiving the 2024 ASCPT Rawls-Palmer Progress in Medicine Award.

The American Society for Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics (ASCPT) selected UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy’s Associate Dean Kim Brouwer, Pharm.D., Ph.D., as the recipient of the 2024 Rawls-Palmer Progress in Medicine Award. 

“It is a tremendous honor to receive this prestigious award, and I am truly grateful to all the students, postdoctoral scholars and our collaborators who have worked tirelessly to translate our scientific discoveries to advance drug development and improve patient care,” said Brouwer, the William R. Kenan Jr. Distinguished Professor in the Division of Pharmacotherapy and Experimental Therapeutics. “The wonderful environment that Carolina and the School have provided over the years has been instrumental in our success.” 

This award was established in 1978 by Dr. W.B. Rawls to further his commitment to continuing medical education and its impact on patient care. The goal of the Rawls-Palmer Progress in Medicine Award is to incorporate the efforts of modern research in patient care and to help bridge the gap between the results of research and its application in patient care. 

The award recognizes Brouwer’s transformational and translational discoveries and innovative approaches impacting clinical pharmacology research and clinical practice. Brouwer directs a National Institutes of Health-funded research program focused on hepatic drug disposition and the development and refinement of in vitro model systems to predict in vivo hepatobiliary drug disposition, drug interactions, and hepatotoxicity. 

“Our ongoing research continues to advance human relevant in vitro models to accurately predict drug disposition in the liver and susceptibility to drug toxicity,” she said. “We are studying how diseases and medications alter hepatic transport proteins in order to improve the efficacy and safety of medications. The goal of our research is to optimize drug therapy to enhance patient care.” 

Brouwer’s impact doesn’t end there. Since taking on the role of Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Education in 2015, Brouwer has seen the School’s funding for research grow by approximately 140% from $36.3 million in FY16 to more than $86.9 million in FY23*.  

Brouwer received the award at the ASCPT Annual Meeting in March 2024. Adjunct Professor Gauri Rao, Pharm.D., was also recognized by ASCPT with the 2024 Leon I. Goldberg Early Investigator Award. This is given to a young scientist for substantial contributions to clinical pharmacology achieved early in the candidate’s career. 


*To be reviewed by the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy. 

Latest News

Comments are closed.