Lewis Becomes National President of SNPhA

August 7, 2017

Darryl Lewis, third-year Pharm.D. candidate, became the Student National Pharmaceutical Association’s national president at its annual meeting in Las Vegas, July 28-30. Lewis has spent the last year as president-elect preparing to lead the organization, which focuses on increasing diversity … Continued

Aaron Anselmo Joins DPMP to Explore Microbiome

July 31, 2017

Aaron Anselmo, Ph.D., has joined the Division of Pharmacoengineering and Molecular Pharmaceutics as an assistant professor. Anselmo comes from the David H. Koch Institute for Integrative Cancer Research at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology where he was a postdoctoral fellow … Continued

Faculty and Students Lead the Way at AACP 2017

July 28, 2017

At the 2017 Annual Meeting of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy held in Nashville, Tennessee, July 15 to 19, faculty and students from the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy led more than a dozen symposia and workshops and … Continued

Jackson Joins Faculty to Expand Diversity Outreach

July 28, 2017

Anita Jackson, M.D., M.P.H., has joined the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy as a research professor in the Division of Pharmacotherapy and Experimental Therapeutics. She will focus on expanding academic research and innovation opportunities to underrepresented minority faculty, postdoctoral fellows … Continued

Bogart Earns GSK Fellowship for Research into New Antibiotics

July 19, 2017

Jon Bogart, Ph.D. candidate in the Division of Chemical Biology and Medicinal Chemistry, was awarded the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy Foundation’s 2017 GlaxoSmithKline Fellowship of $12,000 over one year to support his research into the clinical value of thiopeptides, … Continued

Savage Promoted to Clinical Assistant Professor

July 17, 2017

Amanda Savage, Pharm.D., formerly a clinical instructor in the Division of Practice Advancement and Clinical Education, has been promoted to clinical assistant professor. Savage works in the Asheville, North Carolina, satellite campus. Her scholarship efforts will focus on best practices … Continued

Benhabbour Spin Off Earns UNC KickStart Award

July 13, 2017

A company founded by Rahima Benhabbour, Ph.D., a faculty member at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy, has received a KickStart award from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill to help create the first 3-D printed intravaginal ring … Continued

Lafata Named New DPOP Vice Chair as Blalock Retires

July 11, 2017

Jennifer Lafata, Ph.D., professor in the Division of Pharmaceutical Outcomes and Policy at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy will take over as its vice chair upon the retirement of Susan Blalock, Ph.D., M.P.H, professor in DPOP and current vice … Continued