Catalyst for Rare Disease

The UNC Catalyst for Rare Disease is a research group committed to understanding the functional consequences of genetic mutations; it works with patient organizations that lack ‘wet lab’ bench resources to pursue rare disease research objectives; trains post-doctoral fellows to become the scientific experts for specific rare diseases; partners with foundations, patient groups and individuals to raise funds and advocate for rare disease research; and operates as an open access science model.

Our Vision

To promote rapid, affordable therapy for rare diseases through innovation and collaboration.

Our Mission

Innovating in target identification, new and repurposed drugs and delivery system technology. Collaborating to address specific rare diseases, product development and commercialization.

 

Our Team

Anthony-Hickey

Anthony Hickey

Director
UNC Catalyst for Rare Disease
UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy
ahickey@unc.edu

Tammy_Havener

Tammy Havener

Senior Research Associate
UNC Catalyst for Rare Disease
UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy
THavener@unc.edu

stefanie_howell

Stefanie Howell

Research Associate
UNC Catalyst for Rare Disease
UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy
sdhowell@unc.edu

Wen-Yih-Aw

Wen Yih Aw

Postdoctoral Research Associate
UNC Catalyst for Rare Disease
UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy

wenyihaw@email.unc.edu

Edward_Anderson

Edward Anderson

Postdoctoral Research Associate
UNC Catalyst for Rare Disease
UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy
edandrsn@email.unc.edu

kathryn_hixson

Kathryn Hixson

Postdoctoral Research Associate
UNC Catalyst for Rare Disease
UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy
khixson@email.unc.edu

Horacio-Maldonado

Horacio Maldonado

Postdoctoral Research Associate
UNC Catalyst for Rare Disease
UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy
horacio@unc.edu

sean_ekins

Sean Ekins

Entrepreneur in Residence
UNC Catalyst for Rare Disease
UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy
collaborationspharma@gmail.com

Kim-Swain

Kim Swain

Center Administrator
UNC Catalyst for Rare Disease
UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy
kim.swain@unc.edu


Contact Catalyst

Phone: 919-445-2724

 

News

More Catalyst News