Patterson Assists in the Creation of HFSA Guidelines

March 15, 2006

Herb Patterson, PharmD, participated in the Heart Failure Society of America committee that developed recently published HFSA guidelines. Patterson was one of only 25 individuals selected from across the country to participate in the group.

White-Harris Receives Inaugural Mentoring Award

March 13, 2006

Carla White-Harris, a clinical assistant professor at the UNC School of Pharmacy, received one of the University’s first Carolina Women’s Leadership Council Mentoring Awards, which was presented at the council’s recent annual meeting. The award recognizes outstanding faculty members who go … Continued

Kos Continues Funding of Cardiology Residency

February 15, 2006

Kos Pharmaceuticals provided a $10,000 grant to support the School of Pharmacy’s cardiology specialty residency for the fourth year. T. Don Marsh, PharmD, FASHP, associate director of medical affairs at Kos and former director of pharmacotherapy at the Mountain AHEC, … Continued

Student Group Receives Institute on Aging Award

February 14, 2006

Doctor of pharmacy students from the UNC School of Pharmacy were awarded first prize for their poster in the category of “Campus-Community Collaboration” at the third annual Aging Exchange held on January 24 at the Friday Center. The students receiving … Continued

Scott Named as a John Payne Fellow

February 14, 2006

Mollie Scott, PharmD, is a recipient of the 2006 John Payne Fellowship. The fellowship is awarded annually to one or more faculty members of the AHECs in North Carolina. It provides support to allow the Payne Fellow to study some aspect of health … Continued

Ives Elected Secretary of the Pharmacy Practice Section

February 10, 2006

Tim Ives has been elected secretary of the AACP Pharmacy Practice Section. The section fosters excellence in education, research, and practice through the development and implementation of policies and programs.

Division Awards

February 6, 2006

Kimberly Butler Clark, Drug Delivery and Disposition Achievement Award for Superior Overall Performance in the Drug Delivery and Dispositin Course Sequence. Stephanie Faucette, Drug Delivery and Disposition Graduate Scholar Award for Excellence in Research and Scholarly Activities as a Doctoral … Continued

Hickey Elected AAAS Fellow

February 6, 2006

Hickey Elected Fellow by American Association for the Advancement of Science By Jim Walsh UNC News Services Anthony Hickey, PhD, has been elected as a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science for his efforts to advance … Continued