Ives Elected Secretary of the Pharmacy Practice Section

February 10, 2006

Tim Ives has been elected secretary of the AACP Pharmacy Practice Section. The section fosters excellence in education, research, and practice through the development and implementation of policies and programs.

Division Awards

February 6, 2006

Kimberly Butler Clark, Drug Delivery and Disposition Achievement Award for Superior Overall Performance in the Drug Delivery and Dispositin Course Sequence. Stephanie Faucette, Drug Delivery and Disposition Graduate Scholar Award for Excellence in Research and Scholarly Activities as a Doctoral … Continued

Hickey Elected AAAS Fellow

February 6, 2006

Hickey Elected Fellow by American Association for the Advancement of Science By Jim Walsh UNC News Services Anthony Hickey, PhD, has been elected as a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science for his efforts to advance … Continued

Hadzija Inducted into Frank Porter Graham Honor Society

February 6, 2006

Boka W. Hadzija, Ph.D., has been inducted into the Frank Porter Graham Honor Society in recognition of her extraordinary commitment to the education of graduate and professional students through mentoring, teaching, and support. The Society was created in 1990 in … Continued

Graduate Student Recognition Awards

February 6, 2006

David Bourdet, PhRMA Foundation Pre-Doctoral Fellowship in Pharmaceutics Giulia Ghibellini, American Foundation for Pharmaceutical Education Predoctoral Fellowship Mary Peace McRae, American Foundation for Pharmaceutical Education Predoctoral Fellowship Enzo Palma, National Research Service Award Individual Fellowship, National Institutes of Health Janelle … Continued

Community Pharmacy Residents Receive APhA Grants

February 6, 2006

Four community pharmacy residents received $1,000 grants from the American Pharmacists Foundation for practitioner innovation in pharmaceutical care. In addition, Ron DeVizia, a preceptor in the residency program, received a grant from the American Pharmaceutical Association for his work with diabetes patients. The residents and … Continued

Division Receives New Name

January 25, 2006

The new name for the Division of Molecular Pharmaceutics received the Provost’s approval.

Kashuba Awarded “Paper of the Year” by SIDP

December 14, 2005

A manuscript by associate professor Angela Kashuba has been selected by the Society of Infectious Diseases Pharmacists as “Paper of the Year.” The manuscript is entitled “Combining fosamprenavir with lopinavir/ritonavir substantially reduces amprenavir and lopinavir exposure: ACTG protocol A5143 results”. … Continued

Study: Second-Generation Antidepressants Very Similar

December 14, 2005

Researchers at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill have found evidence that many second-generation antidepressants, despite differences in drug classification and cost, offer patients very similar benefits and only minimal differences in risks. Second-generation antidepressants include selective serotonin … Continued

UNC’s Lambda Chapter of Kappa Epsilon Receives Two National Awards

December 14, 2005

Kappa Epsilon, a professional pharmacy fraternity, presented the School of Pharmacy’s Lambda Chapter with the 2004-2005 New Member Recruitment Award at the national convention in August. Jo Ellen Rodgers, PharmD, clinical assistant professor, received the fraternity’s 2004-2005 Outstanding Adviser Award. … Continued

Graduate Students Recognized by the AFPE and IOA

December 14, 2005

Mark Patterson, a graduate student in the Division of Pharmaceutical Policy and Evaluative Sciences, has been selected to receive the American Foundation for Pharmaceutical Education’s Pre-doctoral Fellowship, beginning in September 2005. The AFPE Fellowship is awarded to outstanding pre-doctoral students … Continued