You are here: Home / News / Events / Chapel Hill Pharmaceutical Sciences Conference

CHPSC 2014

Eighth Annual Chapel Hill Pharmaceutical Sciences Conference

The UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy will host the Eighth Annual Chapel Hill Pharmaceutical Sciences Conference on May 28-29, 2014, at the Carolina Club on the campus of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. This year’s theme will be pharmacoengineering.


The conference, formerly named the Chapel Hill Drug Conference, offers an intimate setting for exchanging ideas on future research and developments emanating from the interface of engineering and the pharmaceutical sciences with many of the leaders in the field. Researchers and students interested in learning what pharmacoengineering and the Research Triangle have to offer are encouraged to attend.

Confirmed Speakers

  • Karen Aboody (Associate Professor, City of Hope)
  • Tosh Chilkoti (Theo Pilkington Professor, Duke University)
  • Jim Datin (CEO, BioAgilytix Labs)
  • Paul Dayton (Professor, University of North Carolina and NC State University)
  • Joe Desimone (Chancellor's Eminent Professor of Chemistry, University of North Carolina)
  • Dennis Discher (Robert D. Bent Chaired Professor, University of Pennsylvania)
  • Bill Egan (Former Director, Office of Vaccines Research and Review, FDA)
  • Leonard Friedland (Vice President, Scientific Affairs and Public Health for North America Vaccines, GSK)
  • Tony Hickey (Distinguished Fellow, RTI International)
  • Leaf Huang (Fred Eshelman Distinguished Professor, University of North Carolina)
  • Darrell Irvine (Professor, MIT and HHMI Investigator)
  • Sam Lai (Assistant Professor, University of North Carolina)
  • Randall Mrnsy (Professor of Epithelial Cell Biology, University of Bath)
  • Derek O’Hagan (‎Global Head of Vaccine Delivery Research, Novartis Vaccines)
  • A. Krishna Prasad (Director, Vaccine Research and Early Phase Development, Pfizer Vaccines)
  • David Putnam (Associate Professor, Cornell University)
  • W. Mark Saltzman (Goizueta Foundation Professor, Yale University)
  • David Volkin (Takeru and Aya Higuchi Distinguished Professor, University of Kansas)
  • Kay Wagoner (President, Wagoner Discovery and Development Consulting)
  • Jennifer West (Fitzpatrick Family University Professor, Duke University)
  • Liangfang Zhang (Associate Professor, University of California-San Diego)

Conference Program

The conference will include

  • talks on biological barriers, biologically inspired systems, translational development, and physical principles in pharmacoengineering;
  • student poster sessions during lunch, a student-run symposium in the evening, and student awards; and
  • a vaccine-focused symposium cohosted with Novartis Vaccines.

Download our mobile app to stay up to date on conference information.


If you have any questions, contact or .

Organizing Committee

  • Sam Lai, PhD (Committee Chair), Assistant Professor, UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy
  • Michael Jay, PhD, Fred Eshelman Distinguished Professor, UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy
  • Zishan Haroon, MD, PhD, Director, Carolina Center for Nanotechnology Excellence
  • Manmohan Singh, PhD, Head of Drug Product Development, Novartis Vaccines

Scientific Advisory Committee

Faculty of the Division of Molecular Pharmaceutics, UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy

Our Sponsors

Document Actions