Elizabeth Landrum Michalets, Pharm.D.

Regional Assistant Dean for Clinical Affairs at Mission Hospital Associate Professor of Clinical Educ.

Elizabeth Michalets is the regional assistant dean for clinical affairs and an associate professor of clinical education at the School’s Asheville campus. Prior to this role, she practiced in critical care for more than twenty years beginning at UNC Hospitals and then at Mission Hospital. In 2001, she became the first inpatient clinical pharmacy practitioner in North Carolina and practiced with trauma physicians at the Level II trauma center. She has precepted hundreds of students and residents in critical care modeling this progressive inpatient practice model. She also coordinated the Acute Care Clinical Scholar’s Program in Asheville and developed a research clerkship at Mission Hospital.

She is board certified in pharmacotherapy by the Board of Pharmaceutical Specialties and was named a fellow of American College of Clinical Pharmacy in 2010. Michalets was a recipient of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy’s Crystal Apple Award (Academic-Practice Partnerships for Learning Excellence) in 2008 and named Mountain AHEC Preceptor of Year in 2009 and AHEC Instructor of the Year in 2004.

Her numerous publication, scholarship, and quality initiatives have focused upon cytochrome P450 drug interactions, innovative models of collaborative practice, antimicrobial pharmacokinetics, and the management of complications in critically ill patients.

Michalets has served as a lead practitioner and educator at Mission Hospital since 1994 where she developed the adult pharmacokinetic and therapeutic monitoring service, the pharmacists’ clinical consult charging system, and led the hospital-wide electronic conversion of medication protocols for computerized physician order entry.

  • BS in Pharmacy, Auburn University
  • Doctor of Pharmacy, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Residency in Clinical Practice, Duke University Medical Center
  • Board Certified Pharmacotherapy Specialist
  • Clinical Pharmacy Practitioner
  • Fellow of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy