Dean Kashuba earns ASCPT’s Rawls-Palmer Progress in Medicine Award

October 30, 2019

Each year, the American Society for Clinical Pharmacology & Therapeutics (ASCPT) recognizes individuals who exhibit outstanding science and achievement in clinical pharmacology and translational science. ASCPT’s awards span clinical pharmacology, translational medicine and therapeutics, and recognize every stage of a career path. This year, UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy’s Dean Angela Kashuba received the Rawls-Palmer Progress in Medicine Award. The award was established in 1978 by Dr. W. B. Rawls to further his commitment to continuing medical education and its impact on patient care. The goal of the Rawls-Palmer Progress in Medicine Award is to incorporate the efforts of modern … Continued

Students Select 2019 Best Instructors; Phil Rodgers Wins Top Award

May 2, 2019

Pharm.D. students at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy selected the Instructor of the Year award winners for 2018-19, honoring the winners at the annual awards ceremony on April 13. The Instructor of the Year award recognizes one course instructor from each year of the Pharm.D. curriculum who demonstrates the highest qualities of instructional ability and an interest in both the students and the educational programs of the school. Overall Instructor of the Year Award: Philip Rodgers, Pharm.D. PY3 Instructor of the Year Award: Kathryn Morbitzer, Pharm.D., M.S. PY2 Instructor of the Year Award: Suzanne Harris, Pharm.D. PY1 Instructor of … Continued

Ava Vargason Receives National Science Foundation Research Fellowship

April 29, 2019

Ava Vargason, a Ph.D. candidate at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy, was awarded the Graduate Research Fellowship from the National Science Foundation. Vargason is a second-year Ph.D. candidate in the Division of Pharmacoengineering and Molecular Pharmaceutics, advised by Aaron Anselmo, Ph.D. Her research project focuses on modifying the surface of therapeutic bacteria to enhance their ability to adhere to mucosal and cell surfaces. “By enabling therapeutic bacteria to adhere with high affinity and specificity to locations in the GI tract, we can target areas of injury, such as inflammation or cancer,” Vargason said. “This project holds promise to enhance … Continued

Christine Ko, UNC Team Take Second In CLARION Case Competition

April 26, 2019

An interprofessional group of UNC-Chapel Hill health professional students secured second place at the annual CLARION National Case Competition in Minneapolis. Third-year Pharm.D. student Christine Ko of the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy was part of the UNC team, along with Natalie Browne of the Gillings School of Global Public Health, Uzma Khan of the Clinical Rehabilitation and Mental Health Counseling program at the School of Medicine, and Monica Kim of the School of Dentistry. The competition was held at the University of Minnesota on April 13. It was organized by CLARION, a University of Minnesota student organization dedicated to … Continued

Beaudoin, Vogt Earn NIH Predoctoral Research Grants

March 27, 2019

Two Ph.D. candidates at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy recently received National Research Service Awards from the National Institutes of Health. Jim Beaudoin, from the Division of Pharmacotherapy and Experimental Therapeutics, and Caleb Vogt, from the Division of Chemical Biology and Medicinal Chemistry, received the NRSA grants. Beaudoin is advised by Kim Brouwer, Pharm.D., Ph.D., and Vogt is advised by Jeff Aubé, Ph.D. The NIH grant, known also as an F31, is awarded to promising predoctoral students so that they can obtain individualized, mentored research training while conducting dissertation research. Beaudoin’s research project will investigate organic solute transporter α/β, … Continued

Mucommune Receives Over $3M to Advance Muco-Trapping Antibodies

March 20, 2019

Mucommune LLC has been awarded over $3 million in five separate federal grants over the past several months to advance its muco-trapping antibody technology. The company was launched in 2016 by Sam Lai, Ph.D., an associate professor at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy. The muco-trapping antibody technology advanced by Mucommune is based on engineering the Fc region of IgG antibodies to interact with mucins. Tuning the Fc region to combine with mucins enables antibodies to immobilize viral and bacterial pathogens in different mucosal secretions, including respiratory airways, GI tract and female reproductive tract. Once the pathogens are trapped in … Continued

Gurysh Receives NIH F32 Grant for Brain Cancer Research

March 18, 2019

Elizabeth Gurysh, Ph.D., received a National Research Service Award from the National Institutes of Health to support her brain cancer research. Gurysh is a postdoctoral researcher working in the lab of Kristy Ainslie, Ph.D., at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy. Ainslie is an associate professor in the Division of Pharmacoengineering and Molecular Pharmaceutics. Gurysh is researching a combination therapy of stem cells and drug-eluting scaffolds to prevent recurrence of glioblastoma, the most common and aggressive form of brain cancer. Glioblastoma is usually treated with surgery followed by radiation or chemotherapy. However, due to glioblastoma’s tentacle-like growth, it is extremely … Continued

Steeb, Urick Receive AACP New Investigator Awards

March 11, 2019

Two professors from the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy received New Investigator Awards from the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy. David Steeb, Pharm.D., M.P.H., and Ben Urick, Pharm.D., Ph.D., won 2019 New Investigator Awards from the AACP. Steeb is a clinical assistant professor and Urick is a research assistant professor, both in the Division of Practice Advancement and Clinical Education. The New Investigator Award provides start-up funding for the independent research programs of early-career pharmacy faculty. Steeb’s research proposal, entitled Development and Assessment of Entrustable Professional Activities (EPAs) for Global Health, will survey global health experts in pharmacy, medicine, … Continued

Martin, Hanafin Win Presidential Trainee Awards from ASCPT

March 4, 2019

Two students from the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy were awarded the Presidential Trainee Award from the American Society for Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics. Jesse Martin and Patrick Hanafin were among the 17 recipients of the award, which recognizes the top scoring abstracts submitted by clinical pharmacologists in training. Martin also received the ASCPT Jason Morrow Trainee Award for the second-highest scoring trainee abstract submitted. The award includes a $1,000 prize. Both students will be recognized and receive their awards at the ASCPT Annual Meeting in March in Washington, DC. Martin is a third-year Pharm.D. student in the Research and … Continued

UNC Chapel Hill Ranked 10th in the World for Pharmacy and Pharmacology

March 1, 2019

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill was ranked 10th in the world for pharmacy and pharmacology in the recently released 2019 QS World University Rankings. UNC was ranked 21st in the same category in 2018. Among American universities, Carolina’s pharmacy and pharmacology programs rank fourth overall. The QS World University Rankings highlight the world’s top universities in 48 subjects, based on academic reputation, employer reputation and research impact.     Four factors are used to create the rating: A survey of over 83,000 academics worldwide A survey of 42,000 graduate employers A measure of Scopus citations per faculty member … Continued