Grandy Receives NCAP Excellence in Innovation Award

October 15, 2018

Rebecca Grandy, Pharm.D., is the recipient of the 2018 Excellence in Innovation Award from the North Carolina Association of Pharmacists for her work providing hepatitis C care in rural communities. Grandy is an assistant professor of clinical education at the … Continued

Hingtgen Awarded UNC Hettleman Prize for Young Faculty

October 12, 2018

Shawn Hingtgen, Ph.D., was awarded the Philip and Ruth Hettleman Prize for Artistic and Scholarly Achievement by Young Faculty by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Hingtgen is an associate professor at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy … Continued

Ferreri Awarded $3M CDC Grant for Study on Opioid Use

October 10, 2018

The Centers for Disease Control awarded a $3 million grant to Stefanie Ferreri, Pharm.D., for a study on screening older adults who use prescription opioids and are at risk for falls. Ferreri is the executive vice chair of the Division … Continued

Gonzalez Receives $2M NIH Grant for Project on Childhood Obesity

October 9, 2018

Daniel Gonzalez, Pharm.D., Ph.D., an assistant professor at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy in the Division of Pharmacotherapy and Experimental Therapeutics, received a $2 million NIH Research Project Grant for research into a new treatment for childhood obesity. Gonzalez’s … Continued

Pharmacy Students Host Medication Take Back Day

October 8, 2018

Students from the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy partnered with Generation Rx to host Medication Take Back Day on October 2. The event, co-hosted by the UNC School of Dentistry and the UNC Hospital Police, collected expired or unused prescription … Continued

Pharm.D. Students Advocate for Pharmacy Profession in Washington

September 25, 2018

Four students from the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy were among the 240 student pharmacists advocating for pharmacist provider status in Washington, D.C. UNC Pharm.D. students Karin Abernathy, Jennifer Sato, Jennifer Schweiger and Sarah Steinert attended the American Pharmacists Association … Continued