2013 Walmart Scholars from UNC

Three student-faculty teams from the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy have been named Walmart Scholars by the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy, marking the seventh consecutive year that the School has had at least one recipient for the award and the second year with three.

The School’s 2013 winners are:

  • PGY2 resident Ashley Hannings, PharmD, and her faculty mentor, clinical associate professor Macary Marciniak, PharmD;
  • PGY1 resident Abby Matulewicz, PharmD, and her faculty mentor, clinical assistant professor Daniel Forrister, PharmD; and
  • Academic fellow Jamie Shelly, PharmD, and her faculty mentor, clinical assistant professor Kelly Scolaro, PharmD.

Four of those winners — Hannings, Matulewicz, Shelly, and Forrister — are current or former residents in the School’s community pharmacy residency program.

The Walmart Scholars Program aims to strengthen the award recipients’ skills and commitment to a career in academic pharmacy through their participation at the AACP Annual Meeting. Each student-faculty pair receives a $1,000 scholarship to help cover registration and travel costs for the annual meeting, along with the AACP Teachers Seminar held in Chicago July 13–17.

Hannings is a PGY2 community pharmacy/academia resident based at Kerr Drug in Chapel Hill and has accepted a faculty position at the University of Georgia College of Pharmacy, where she earned her PharmD. She completed a PGY1 pharmacy practice residency at the McWhorter School of Pharmacy at Samford University in Birmingham, Alabama. During her PGY2 residency, Hannings served as the course co-coordinator for the Community Pharmacy section of the Pharmacy Practice Management course. She also served as a teaching assistant in Applied Case Studies in Self-Care Therapeutics and for the Pharmaceutical Care Lab. In addition, she coordinated the Community Pharmacy Residency Forum, a monthly webinar series that offers continuing-education credits for pharmacists. Hannings also served as a co-adviser for Phi Delta Chi and mentored students through the Carolina Association of Pharmacy Students.

Matulewicz is a PGY1 community pharmacy resident based at Kerr Drug in Asheville. In fall 2012, the Drake University alumna served as a teaching assistant in the PCL, working with the inaugural class at the School’s Asheville satellite campus. She also served as a judge for the School’s American Pharmacists Association Academy of Student Pharmacists chapter’s patient counseling competition, as well as an immunization technique assessor for the APhA’s Pharmacist Immunizer certificate program at the North Carolina Association of Pharmacists annual meeting. In 2013-2014, Matulewicz, who is interested in pursuing a career in academic pharmacy, will be the Academic Fellow in Pharmaceutical Care Lab Educational Development at the School.

Shelly, the current Academic Fellow in Pharmaceutical Care Lab Educational Development, earned her PharmD at Purdue University and completed a PGY1 community pharmacy residency at UNC. She has taught a number of classes at the School and served as course co-coordinator for the spring PCL course for PY2 students. On the scholarship front, she collaborated with Scolaro on a project for the American Pharmacists Association and abstract reviews for a national meeting. Shelly is a member of the APhA, the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, and the North Carolina Pharmacists Association. She has also mentored students through the Student Health Action Coalition free clinic and the Carolina Association of Pharmacy Students.

Comments are closed.