Skip to main content

Schools of Pharmacy, Medicine unite through pilot grant to improve care of older adults in nursing homes

November 19, 2019

Dr. Christine E. Kistler of the UNC School of Medicine has dedicated her entire career to improving the care of older adults, especially those in nursing homes. She said evidence suggests that two-thirds of nursing home residents in the United States experience an adverse event from a medication in any four-year period. One in seven of those adverse events leads to a hospitalization. “Seeing the harms of adverse events from medications, I have wondered if pharmacogenomics might improve safe prescribing and reduce patient harm,” she said. That’s where a team of researchers at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy come … Continued

Researcher named 2019 AAPS Emerging Leader of the Year

November 12, 2019

For Juliane Nguyen, Pharm.D., Ph.D., every day at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy begins and ends with a patient in mind. Nguyen, an associate professor in the School’s Division of Pharmacoengineering and Molecular Pharmaceutics (DPMP), focuses on developing the next generation of safe and effective biotherapeutics for life-threatening diseases such as cancer and myocardial infarction. “I think if we have developed  a clinically viable drug that improves patients’ lives, then we will have made a significant contribution to science and medicine,” Nguyen said. “Until then, we continuously strive to learn and grow.” And others are noticing her dedication to … Continued

August 27, 2019

RESEARCH Discovering cures to overcome sickness and disease. Research Enterprise > Centers >  Find a Researcher >  Faculty Labs >

Beaudoin, Vogt Earn NIH Predoctoral Research Grants

March 27, 2019

Two Ph.D. candidates at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy recently received National Research Service Awards from the National Institutes of Health. Jim Beaudoin, from the Division of Pharmacotherapy and Experimental Therapeutics, and Caleb Vogt, from the Division of Chemical Biology and Medicinal Chemistry, received the NRSA grants. Beaudoin is advised by Kim Brouwer, Pharm.D., Ph.D., and Vogt is advised by Jeff Aubé, Ph.D. The NIH grant, known also as an F31, is awarded to promising predoctoral students so that they can obtain individualized, mentored research training while conducting dissertation research. Beaudoin’s research project will investigate organic solute transporter α/β, … Continued

UNC Study Reveals Precision Oncology Insights for Colorectal Cancer

March 25, 2019

Next-generation sequencing of tumor DNA from patients with colorectal cancer revealed genetic alterations that were linked to different survival and treatment outcomes in an analysis led by a researcher at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy. The findings, published in the Journal of Clinical Oncology, could help define strategies to more effectively treat colorectal cancer, the second leading cause of cancer death in the United States. “This is an example of precision oncology, where using genetics, we are able to stratify tumor types that we once believed were homogeneous, and to identify new patient subgroups that might benefit from tailored therapies,” … Continued

Mucommune Receives Over $3M to Advance Muco-Trapping Antibodies

March 20, 2019

Mucommune LLC has been awarded over $3 million in five separate federal grants over the past several months to advance its muco-trapping antibody technology. The company was launched in 2016 by Sam Lai, Ph.D., an associate professor at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy. The muco-trapping antibody technology advanced by Mucommune is based on engineering the Fc region of IgG antibodies to interact with mucins. Tuning the Fc region to combine with mucins enables antibodies to immobilize viral and bacterial pathogens in different mucosal secretions, including respiratory airways, GI tract and female reproductive tract. Once the pathogens are trapped in … Continued

Gurysh Receives NIH F32 Grant for Brain Cancer Research

March 18, 2019

Elizabeth Gurysh, Ph.D., received a National Research Service Award from the National Institutes of Health to support her brain cancer research. Gurysh is a postdoctoral researcher working in the lab of Kristy Ainslie, Ph.D., at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy. Ainslie is an associate professor in the Division of Pharmacoengineering and Molecular Pharmaceutics. Gurysh is researching a combination therapy of stem cells and drug-eluting scaffolds to prevent recurrence of glioblastoma, the most common and aggressive form of brain cancer. Glioblastoma is usually treated with surgery followed by radiation or chemotherapy. However, due to glioblastoma’s tentacle-like growth, it is extremely … Continued

Steeb, Urick Receive AACP New Investigator Awards

March 11, 2019

Two professors from the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy received New Investigator Awards from the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy. David Steeb, Pharm.D., M.P.H., and Ben Urick, Pharm.D., Ph.D., won 2019 New Investigator Awards from the AACP. Steeb is a clinical assistant professor and Urick is a research assistant professor, both in the Division of Practice Advancement and Clinical Education. The New Investigator Award provides start-up funding for the independent research programs of early-career pharmacy faculty. Steeb’s research proposal, entitled Development and Assessment of Entrustable Professional Activities (EPAs) for Global Health, will survey global health experts in pharmacy, medicine, … Continued

UNC Catalyst Hosts Rare Diseases Day Awareness Event

March 6, 2019

The UNC Catalyst for Rare Diseases hosted a meet-and-greet in the Genetic Medicine Building on Feb. 27 for Rare Diseases Day. Catalyst scientists provided guests an overview of the research group’s mission and rare disease projects. UNC Catalyst is a research group focused on understanding and counteracting rare diseases. It creates high quality research tools to explore disease pathobiology, in order to accelerate the pace of drug discovery and help define options for therapeutic intervention. “There are very few centers like Catalyst that are solely dedicated to rare diseases, nationally or internationally,” said Catalyst director Anthony Hickey, Ph.D. “We benefit … Continued

Martin, Hanafin Win Presidential Trainee Awards from ASCPT

March 4, 2019

Two students from the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy were awarded the Presidential Trainee Award from the American Society for Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics. Jesse Martin and Patrick Hanafin were among the 17 recipients of the award, which recognizes the top scoring abstracts submitted by clinical pharmacologists in training. Martin also received the ASCPT Jason Morrow Trainee Award for the second-highest scoring trainee abstract submitted. The award includes a $1,000 prize. Both students will be recognized and receive their awards at the ASCPT Annual Meeting in March in Washington, DC. Martin is a third-year Pharm.D. student in the Research and … Continued