Skip to main content

The UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy Alumni Association presents two alumni awards each year.

Nominate someone here for an award.

The Samuel B. Burrus Family Award for Community Service

The Burrus Family Award is given to an alum (or to a partnership in which at least one member is an alum) of the School in recognition of outstanding and unselfish civic, community, or church volunteer service outside the scope of regular pharmacy practice. Occasionally the award may be given to a pharmacist functioning in the public interest at the state or national level.

Recipients receive one monetary award for themselves and one monetary award for a charity of their choice.

Nomination Criteria:

  • Graduate of the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy
  • History of community service, including engagement with non-profits, schools, churches and other organizations not necessarily related to the practice of pharmacy
YearStudentAlumnus or Alumna
2022-2023Christian BrownMary Hooks
2021-2022Aliyah CruzBarry Bunting
2020-2021--Robert "Pete" Crouch
2019-2020--Paul Stevenson
2018-2019Ashley Henson McKnightLynn Kieffer
2017-2018Libbie DellingerSamuel Goodwin
2016-2017Rachel LaBiancaGary Bowman
2015-2016Andrew BeatyArnold and Susan Britt
2014-2015Emily PeedinHenry and Tracey Smith
2013-2014Jonathan HaleEvelyn Lloyd
2012-2013Jody ChurchDon Heaton
2011-2012Davon TownsendJill and Eric Wolford
2010-2011Kimberly MasonPhebe and Paul Kirkman
2009-2010Holly BarrierKader and Margaret Ramsey
2008-2009Harry MarcelinRobert and Linda Taylor
2007-2008Katherine McCallGeorge Brookins
2006-2007Susan HerndonCliff and Linda Butler
2005-2006Kim KellyRaymond Heath
2004-2005Lisa ElsdonRalph and Daphne Ashworth
2003-2004Laurie AndersonAl and Shirley Rachide
2002-2003Kristen FarrisBill Simmons
2001-2002Tracey SimmonsGeorge and Erie Cocolas
2000-2001Ami DeatonFrank and Peggy Yarborough
1999-2000Amy HatfieldJimmy and Vivia Creech

The Distinguished Service Award

The Pharmacy Alumni Association Distinguished Service Award is presented to an alumnus or alumna whose accomplishments and/or contributions enhance the School and profession of pharmacy at the local, state, national, or international levels.

Nomination Criteria:

  • Graduate of the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy
  • A record of professional and/or extra-professional activities to advance the practice of pharmacy, and/or contributions of time, talent or financial support to benefit the School
YearAlumnus or Alumna
2022-2023Tab Waldrop
2021-2022Terrence Burroughs
2020-2021Toyin Tofade
2019-2020Allen “Jo” Cato III
2018-2019Stephanie Gardner
2017-2018Pam Joyner
2016-2017Gene Minton
2015-2016Donna Gutterman
2014-2015Gray Hutchison
2013-2014Mickey Watts
2012-2013Gary Yingling
2011-2012Gene Anderson
2010-2011Neal Fowler
2009-2010Barry Bunting
2008-2009Cliff and Linda Butler
2007-2008Martin DeBerardinis Jr.
2006-2007David S. Moody Jr.
2005-2006Henry Lewis Smith
2004-2005John A. "Sandy" McNeill
2003-2004Joe and Betty Rowe
2002-2003Fred Eshelman
2001-2002Nancy and Vaughn Bryson
2000-2001Benny Ridout
1999-2000George Abercrombie
1998-1999Mary Lynn Bell
1997-1998Milton Whaley
1996-1997Jim McAllister
1995-1996John Henley
1994-1995Whit Moose
1993-1994Banks Kerr
1992-1993Betty Dennis
1991-1992Seymour Holt
1990-1991William R. Adams Jr.