Kim Brouwer, PharmD, PhD
  • William R. Kenan Jr. Distinguished Professor
  • Division Chair, Pharmacotherapy and Experimental Therapeutics
Contact Info

Pharmacotherapy and Experimental Therapeutics

Work: (919) 962-7030
Fax: (919) 962-0644

3205 Kerr Hall , UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy
Campus Box 7569
Chapel Hill NC 27599-7569

You are here: Home / Directory / Kim Brouwer, PharmD, PhD

Kim Brouwer, PharmD, PhD


Kim L. R. Brouwer, PharmD, PhD, is the William R. Kenan Jr. Distinguished Professor and chair of the Division of Pharmacotherapy and Experimental Therapeutics of the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy and a professor in the curriculum in toxicology. She received her BS in pharmacy from Oregon State University. Brouwer completed her PharmD at the University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy in conjunction with a pharmacy residency at the UK Medical Center and a PhD in pharmaceutical sciences/pharmacokinetics. After postdoctoral training (pharmacology/drug metabolism) in the UK College of Medicine, she joined the faculty at the University of North Carolina in 1986 where she served as director of graduate studies for the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy from 1996 to 2004.

Brouwer directs an NIH-funded research program focused on hepatobiliary drug disposition and development and refinement of in vitro model systems to predict in vivo hepatobiliary disposition, drug interactions, and hepatotoxicity. She has mentored more than eighty-five undergraduate, graduate, and postdoctoral students and published more than 295 research papers, abstracts, and book chapters.

Brouwer is a co-inventor of B-CLEAR® (U.S. Patent No. 6,780,580), an in vitro method to assess hepatic uptake, excretion, and biliary clearance that correlates with in vivo data. This technology has been exclusively licensed from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill to Qualyst, Inc. Brouwer is a Qualyst founder and chairs the company’s scientific advisory board.

She served as a member of the NIH Pharmacology Study Section from 1998 to 2002 and is a member of the editorial boards for Drug Metabolism and Disposition, Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics, and the AAPS Journal. She was elected an AAPS Fellow in 1998, was recipient of the PHRMA Foundation Award in Excellence in Pharmaceutics in 2001, and recently received the inaugural Pharmaceutical Sciences Outstanding Graduate Program Alumni Award and the Paul F. Parker Award from the University of Kentucky.

Research Interests:

  • Mechanisms of hepatic uptake, translocation and biliary excretion
  • Drug transport
  • Pharmacokinetics
  • Aberrant gastrointestinal drug absorption phenomena


Document Actions