Skip to main content
Featured News News Sidebar Featured News Uncategorized,
Daniel Alexander
August 10, 2022

UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy’s Kim Brouwer, Pharm.D., Ph.D., is this year’s recipient of the American College of Clinical Pharmacology’s Distinguished Investigator Award.

This award is given annually and is intended to recognize superior scientific expertise and accomplishments by a senior investigator, usually involving a distinct area of research in basic or clinical pharmacology, for which the individual is internationally known. 

“It is a tremendous honor to be recognized by my clinical pharmacology colleagues as the 2022 ACCP Distinguished Investigator.” said Brouwer.  “This award is particularly meaningful because many members of the American College of Clinical Pharmacology have been such an inspiration to me – true giants in the field, as educators and clinician scientists! I am truly grateful for this distinction, and I look forward to continuing to advance the science of drug transporters, and to integrate and translate that knowledge to optimize drug therapy.” 

Brouwer is the William R. Kenan Jr. Distinguished Professor in the Division of Pharmacotherapy and Experimental Therapeutics at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy, associate dean for research and graduate education, and a professor in the curriculum in toxicology. 

At the School of Pharmacy, Brouwer directs an NIH-funded research program focused on hepatobiliary drug transport and the development and refinement of in vitro model systems to predict in vivo hepatic disposition, drug interactions, and hepatotoxicity.  

 Brouwer is also a co-inventor of B-CLEAR® (U.S. Patent No. 6,780,580), an in vitro method to assess hepatic uptake, excretion, and biliary clearance that correlates with in vivo data. This technology has been exclusively licensed from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill to Qualyst, Inc. Brouwer is a Qualyst co-founder and former chair of the company’s scientific advisory board. Qualyst Transporter Solutions was acquired by BioIVT in August 2017. 

 She also served as a member of the NIH Pharmacology Study Section from 1998 to 2002 and is a member of the editorial advisory boards for Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics, Clinical and Translational Science, AAPS Journal, and Pharmaceutical Research. She was elected an AAPS Fellow in 1998 and was recipient of the PHRMA Foundation Award in Excellence in Pharmaceutics in 2001. She has received many prestigious awards for her outstanding contributions as a leading academic researcher including the 2018 ASCPT-FDA Abrams Award, the UNC Inventor of the Year in 2019, the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy 2020 Volwiler Research Achievement Award, and an honorary doctorate from the University of Eastern Finland in June of 2022. 

The ACCP will formally present the Distinguished Investigator Award to Brouwer during the organization’s Annual Meeting in September. 

Latest News

Comments are closed.