Skip to main content
Denise Rhoney, Pharm.D.
Denise Rhoney

Denise Rhoney, Pharm.D., has been named associate dean for curricular innovation at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy, and Wendy Cox, Pharm.D., is now the associate dean for professional education.

Rhoney is the Ron and Nancy McFarlane Distinguished Professor and currently chairs the Division of Practice Advancement and Clinical Education. Stephen Eckel, Pharm.D., M.H.A., clinical associate professor and associate dean for global engagement, will step in as interim chair of PACE as Rhoney assumes her new responsibilities.

“The UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy is in a unique position to pursue extraordinary and unprecedented opportunities,” said Bob Blouin, Pharm.D., dean of the School. “We appointed Denise to this new position to lead the design and implementation of a cutting-edge, bold and transformative curriculum.”

Stephen Eckel

As associate dean, Rhoney will assess and evaluate new and emerging trends in education and health care that affect pharmacy education and stimulate collaborations between divisions to foster a culture of academic excellence in educational research and innovation. She will lead an academic innovation and strategy team that includes faculty and other key stakeholders in our curricular transformation efforts.

Rhoney will collaborate with key stakeholders to ensure policies support the School’s professional curriculum and will seek and secure external funding and other resources to advance curricular innovation. She will also chair the Curriculum Transformation Steering Committee and supervise CIPhER and CIPS.

Cox, who is currently the associate dean for curricular and student affairs, will become the associate dean for professional education. In this new role, Cox will oversee the Office of Curricular and Student Affairs, including

Wendy Cox, Pharm.D.
Wendy Cox

admissions, recruitment, registration, enrollment management and experiential programs staff, and will lead and oversee the Pharm.D. program in collaboration with the regional associate dean at Asheville.

She will also oversee the operational aspects of the Pharm.D. curriculum, including experiential programs, and ensure the School is meeting ACPE, SACS and UNC curriculum and course requirements. She will oversee the Office of Continuing Education and serve as a representative for the School to a number of external partners, including experiential partners, the N.C. Board of Pharmacy liaison, AHEC and the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy House of Delegates as alternate delegate.

“I congratulate Denise, Wendy and Stephen on their new roles and thank them for their leadership and support during this important time for our School,” Blouin said.


Comments are closed.