Skip to main content
Faculty, Featured, General, Preceptors, Ian Hollis
Grayson Mendenhall
May 13, 2016

Ian Hollis, Pharm.D., and Amy Sauls, Pharm.D., were awarded Claude Paoloni Preceptor of the Year Awards at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy 2016 Award Ceremony on April 24.

The awards are given annually to the School’s top health-care-systems and community-pharmacy preceptors and were created by the Paoloni family in memory of their father, Claude Paoloni, in recognition of his years of service to the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy.

Kim Leadon, M.Ed., director the Office of Experiential Education, presented the awards to Hollis and Sauls, who were selected by the graduating Pharm.D. class for their outstanding contribution to the educational development of future pharmacists.

“The UNC Medical Center, the UNC Campus Health Pharmacy and the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy benefit immensely from talents of both Dr. Sauls and Dr. Hollis,” said Leadon. “They exemplify each and every aspect of an outstanding preceptor, and are absolutely deserving of the Claude Paoloni Preceptor of the Year Awards for their dedication and commitment to training the next generation of pharmacists.”

Ian Hollis, Pharm.D.

Hollis hospital
Ian Hollis, Pharm.D., (right) received the 2016 Paoloni award as the School’s top health system-preceptor.

Hollis was awarded the 2016 Health System Preceptor Award. He has been a preceptor for more than five years and has mentored more than 30 UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy students.

Hollis is the clinical pharmacy specialist for the adult cardiac surgery and the advanced heart failure services at UNC Hospitals. His role focuses on the management of patients with late-stage heart failure requiring therapies such as left ventricular assist device placement and heart transplantation. He is also the residency program director for
the PGY2 Cardiology Residency at UNC Hospitals and is the co-chair of the UNC Preceptor Development Committee.

In Hollis’ nomination letter, a student wrote that despite his intense workload, Hollis has trained many students and residents, dedicating time each day to reviewing patients and discussing important health topics.

“Dr. Hollis’ ability to ask a series of questions to allow a learner to reason through an answer, rather than simply lecturing, results in an unparalleled learning experience,” the nominator said. “Emphasizing the importance of providing quality care to patients, Dr. Hollis supports learners as they take ownership of activities such as completing medication reconciliations, generating medication action plans and counseling patients prior to discharge.”

Amy Sauls, Pharm.D.

Amy Sauls
Amy Sauls, Pharm.D., director of pharmacy for UNC Campus Health Services, was awarded the 2016 Paoloni award for top community preceptor.

Sauls was awarded the 2016 Paoloni award for top community preceptor. She graduated from the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy and spent the first eleven years of her career as a pediatric clinical pharmacist at UNC Children’s Hospital. In 2008, she joined UNC Campus Health Services as the director of pharmacy where she leads a staff of pharmacists and technicians dedicated to bringing inclusive, patient centered and expert pharmaceutical care and education to the students and employees of UNC. As a preceptor for four years, she has mentored eight students.

In Saul’s student nomination letter, a student recalled Saul tailoring a rotation specifically to the student’s interests and future ambitions. Even on days she was not with the student, Saul consistently checked with her to ensure her rotation was going smoothly.

“I truly felt that Dr. Sauls was 100 percent dedicated to my month at campus health,” the student nominator said. “Her kindness and positivity created a comfortable learning environment, and she consistently offered constructive feedback throughout the month. I am grateful to have spent the month at campus health pharmacy working alongside Dr. Sauls and her colleagues. She is a kind, effective and dedicated preceptor who is fully worthy of recognition for her time and effort invested in student learning.”


Latest News

View All
Comments are closed.