Skip to main content
Divisions Faculty Grants and Awards Practice Advancement and Clinical Education Preceptors,
Grayson Mendenhall
October 15, 2015

Joe Moose
Joe Moose, Pharm.D.

Joe Moose, Pharm.D., has been named the National Community Pharmacists Association 2015 Willard B. Simmons Independent Pharmacist of the Year.

Moose is an adjunct assistant professor in the Division of Practice Advancement and Clinical Education, a preceptor and co-owner of Moose Pharmacy in Concord, North Carolina. He received his award at the NCPA 2015 Annual Convention on October 11.

The Independent Pharmacist of the Year award recognizes an independent pharmacist for exemplary leadership and commitment to independent pharmacy and to their community. The award is named in honor of Willard B. Simmons, a former executive secretary of NCPA and a long-time NCPA Foundation trustee.

“Joe Moose is at the forefront of efforts to make independent community pharmacies an integral part of a more coordinated and efficient health-care delivery system, which makes him a deserving recipient of the NCPA 2015 Willard B. Simmons Independent Pharmacist of the Year Award,” said NCPA President John T. Sherrer, co-owner of Poole¹s Pharmacy in Marietta, Georgia. “Joe¹s central role in a federally funded pilot program in North Carolina has been well-chronicled in publications like the Charlotte Observer, Morning Consult and Pharmacy Today and serves as a model for other pharmacies looking to be on the cutting-edge of patient care.”

Moose’s pharmacy career began after receiving his Doctor of Pharmacy from the Campbell University College of Pharmacy & Health Science. He serves as a preceptor with the School’s PGY1 Community Pharmacy Residency Program and also precepts students completing introductory and advanced practice experiential education rotations with the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy, Campbell University and Wingate University School of Pharmacy.

Moose is on a variety of committees in North Carolina, including chairing the state¹s Medicaid Drug Utilization Review. As co-owner of Moose Pharmacy, Moose has established collaborative practice agreements with local physicians to integrate community pharmacists into a patient-centered medical home. He has also partnered with the city of Charlotte and Union County to manage employees enrolled in diabetes and other disease management programs. Working with his pharmacy staff, Moose has implemented and enhanced a variety of clinical services in his pharmacy, including medication therapy management.

Moose works in conjunction with Community Care of North Carolina, Inc., GlaxoSmithKline and the School as the lead community pharmacy coordinator for a multiyear federally funded, $15 million grant through the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Innovation. This project is evaluating best practices to improve health outcomes and lower overall health-care costs for implementation on a national scale. In this role, Moose has built a network of more than 225 community pharmacies that strive to offer enhanced value to payers.

Moose has previously been named as a recipient of the 2012 Next Generation Pharmacist of the Year Award, the 2012 Next Generation Entrepreneur of the Year Award, and the 2015 American Pharmacists Association Community Pharmacy Residency Excellence in Precepting Award. Moose maintains professional affiliations with NCPA, APhA and North Carolina Association of Pharmacists.

Latest News

Comments are closed.