Rodgers is New APhA Rep to National Diabetes Program

March 7, 2007

Phil Rodgers, PharmD, has been appointed as the APhA representative to the National Diabetes Educational Program. He will serve on both the Steering Committee and the Pharmacy Podiatry, Optometry, and Dental Professionals (PPOD) work group. The National Diabetes Education Program … Continued

School Rises to Eighth Nationally in NIH Funding

February 7, 2007

The UNC School of Pharmacy now ranks eighth among the nation’s pharmacy schools in grants and contracts awarded by the National Institutes of Health, according to numbers compiled by the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy. School researchers were awarded … Continued

Caiola Appointed to ACPE Continuing Education Commission

February 6, 2007

The Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education has appointed Steve Caiola, MS, an associate professor at the UNC School of Pharmacy, to its newly established Continuing Pharmacy Education Commission. Caiola, who will serve a three-year term on the CPEC, has been … Continued

Rodgers Receives KE Career Achievement Award

January 16, 2007

Jo Ellen Rodgers, PharmD, is the 2007 recipient of the Kappa Epsilon Fraternity Career Achievement Award. Rodgers is a clinical assistant professor in the Division of Pharmacotherapy and Experimental Therapeutics. “Jo Ellen’s accomplishments reflect so admirably on her, on our … Continued

Three Named as Eli Lilly Predoctoral Fellows

January 8, 2007

Company Expands Funding for Fellows Program from Two Years to Four UNC School of Pharmacy graduate students Xin Ming, Jeannie Padowski, and Brandon Swift have been named 2006–2008 Eli Lilly and Co.-UNC Predoctoral Fellows in Pharmacokinetics, Pharmacodynamics, and Drug Disposition. … Continued

UNC Spin-off Licenses Technology to Drug Development Company

December 14, 2006

Qualyst, a company created based on discoveries made at the UNC School of Pharmacy, announced that Covance Laboratories Inc., has licensed the use of Qualyst’s B-CLEAR® system to provide its pharmaceutical and biotechnology sponsors with pharmacokinetic services. B-CLEAR® is a … Continued

Ferreri One of 40 to Attend Nonprescription Medicines Academy Conference

November 13, 2006

Stefanie Ferreri, PharmD, was one of forty-four participants at the ninth annual Nonpresecription Medicines Academy Conference held October 5–7 in Cincinnati. The conference is for college faculty who provide instruction on nonprescription medicines and medical devices. The conference included topics … Continued

Faculty Letter Published in Science Magazine

October 11, 2006

Science magazine recently published a letter written by Alan Kozikowski, Bryan Roth, and Alex Tropsha that argues in favor of developing academic drug discovery programs. Tropsha and Roth are faculty at the UNC School of Pharmacy, and Kozikowski is a professor … Continued

Rezk Honored With Two Prestigious Awards

October 9, 2006

Naser Rezk, a research associate in the Clinical Pharmacology and Analytical Chemistry Laboratory at the School of Pharmacy, has been honored with two prestigious awards: the Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Innovation and the State Employees’ Award for Excellence in Innovation. Rezk is … Continued

Faculty Mentoring Program Launched with $1 Million Endowment

September 21, 2006

The UNC School of Pharmacy has created a new faculty mentoring program—believed to be the first of its kind among the nation’s pharmacy schools—designed to help young faculty succeed by matching them up with experienced mentors both inside and outside … Continued

Brouwer Honored by the University of Kentucky

September 1, 2006

Kim Brouwer, chair of the Division of Pharmacotherapy and Experimental Therapeutics, has been selected as the inaugural recipient of the University of Kentucky Outstanding Graduate Program Alumni for the Pharmaceutical Sciences. The goal of this award is to honor graduates … Continued