Patterson Named New Mentoring Director

January 31, 2018

J. Herbert Patterson, Pharm.D., executive vice chair of the division of pharmacotherapy and experimental pharmaceutics, was named director of the Bill and Karen Campbell Faculty Mentoring Program on Jan. 1. He succeeds Dhiren Thakker, Ph.D., who held the post for … Continued

Watkins Honored with 2018 ASPET Toxicology Career Award

January 11, 2018

Paul Watkins, M.D., is the recipient of the 2018 American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics Division for Toxicology Career Award. Watkins is the Howard Q. Ferguson Distinguished Professor in the Division of Pharmacotherapy and Experimental Therapeutics and director of the … Continued

Postdoc Bezençon Receives University of Basel Thesis Award

December 15, 2017

Jacqueline Bezençon, Ph.D., a postdoctoral research associate at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy, received the 2017 Irma Tschudi-Steiner Award for the best female pharmaceutical sciences Ph.D. thesis at the University of Basel in Basel, Switzerland. Bezençon is a postdoc … Continued

Carpenter, Corbett Win Chancellor’s Entrepreneurial Workshop

December 1, 2017

UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy faculty members Amanda Corbett, Pharm.D., and Delesha Carpenter, Ph.D., M.S.P.H., were among the winners of this year’s Chancellor’s Faculty Entrepreneurship Workshop. The two-and-a-half day workshop, called “The Entrepreneurial Mindset – Maximizing Faculty Impact,” split participating … Continued

Cao Receives R35 Outstanding Investigator Grant

November 16, 2017

Yanguang “Carter” Cao, Ph.D., has received an R35 Outstanding Investigator Grant worth $1.85 million over five years from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences to create a platform to optimize antibody-based therapy. “Therapeutic antibodies have achieved great success in … Continued

Pharm.D. RASP Students Win National Research Grants

November 9, 2017

Amy Lin and Kevin Straughn, both third-year Pharm.D. candidates, have won nationally competitive research grants. Both students are members of the Research and Scholarship in Pharmacy program, a pathway in the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy built around a mentored, … Continued

Williams, Campbell Appointed to BPS Specialty Council

August 16, 2017

Associate Professor Dennis Williams, Pharm.D., and Assistant Professor of Clinical Education Kristen Campbell, Pharm.D., were appointed to the Board of Pharmacy Specialists Specialty Council. The council appointed only 27 pharmacists out of the more than 100 who applied. Williams is … Continued