Translating discoveries into better education for our students, economic benefits for our state and beyond and better health for our citizens.

UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy faculty understand that the practice and science of pharmacy is constantly changing — because they are the ones changing it. The number of primary faculty grew 69 percent from 2005 to 2014 and includes approximately 75 on-campus and 30 off-campus clinical practitioners and researchers who work on the leading edge of pharmaceutical practice and research.

Our faculty have dedicated themselves to breakthrough research, cutting-edge health-care methods and innovative instruction. External research funding rose 245 percent from 2004 to 2013 to approximately $23 million, second among the nation’s pharmacy schools. Discoveries by our faculty have resulted in 165 patents — 131 of which were issued in the last ten years — and a total of 19 spin-off companies.

Using a variety of methods to engage students in the classroom, in the lab and in experiential settings, our faculty help prepare students for a future in research, industry, practice or education. Their expertise translates directly to the quality of the education received by our professional and graduate students for whom they serve as teachers, mentors and preceptors.


E(I) Lab Names Winners in Second Annual Innovation Competition

June 26, 2017

The E(I) Lab Program, a competition launched by the UNC Eshelman Institute for Innovation that encourages entrepreneurship and innovation among multidisciplinary teams of UNC graduate and professional student, wrapped up its second cohort on April 29. The winning team received … Continued

School Wins AACP 2017 Assessment Award for PY1 Capstone

June 20, 2017

The UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy is the recipient of a 2017 Award for Excellence in Assessment from the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy. The School’s entry, “Developing an Innovative, Comprehensive First-1 Year Capstone to Assess and Improve Student … Continued

McLaughlin Named a 2017 AACP Emerging Teaching Scholar

June 20, 2017

Assistant Professor Jacqueline “Jacqui” McLaughlin, Ph.D., is the recipient of a 2017 Emerging Teaching Scholar Award from the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy. According to AACP, the Emerging Teaching Scholars Award recognizes the excellence of academic pharmacy faculty engaged … Continued

Zhen Gu, Ph.D.

Zhen Gu Named Runner-Up for State Department ASPIRE Prize

June 13, 2017

Zhen Gu, Ph.D., an adjunct professor in the School Division of Pharmacoengineering and Molecular Pharmceutics, is a runner-up in the 2017 APEC Science Prize for Innovation, Research and Education competition sponsored by the U.S. Department of State, Wiley, and Elsevier. … Continued

Blouin Receives Honorary Degree from Monash University

June 12, 2017

Monash University in Melbourne, Australia, conferred an honorary doctorate upon Robert A. “Bob” Blouin, dean of the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy, on May 25. Blouin is also the Vaughn and Nancy Bryson Distinguished Professor at the School and serves … Continued

Read More