Kim L. R. Brouwer, Pharm.D., Ph.D.

Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Education William R. Kenan, Jr. Distinguished Professor William R. Kenan, Jr. Dist. Professor

Kim L.R. Brouwer, Pharm.D., Ph.D., is the William R. Kenan Jr. Distinguished Professor in the Division of Pharmacotherapy and Experimental Therapeutics of the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy, associate dean for research and graduate education, and a professor in the curriculum in toxicology.

Brouwer received her B.S. in pharmacy from Oregon State University. Brouwer completed her Pharm.D. at the University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy in conjunction with a pharmacy residency at the UK Medical Center and a PhD in pharmaceutical sciences/pharmacokinetics. After postdoctoral training (pharmacology/drug metabolism) in the UK College of Medicine, she joined the faculty at the University of North Carolina in 1986 where she served as director of graduate studies for the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy from 1996 to 2004.

Brouwer directs an NIH-funded research program focused on hepatobiliary drug disposition and development and refinement of in vitro model systems to predict in vivo hepatobiliary disposition, drug interactions, and hepatotoxicity. She has mentored more than 85 undergraduate, graduate and postdoctoral students and published more than 295 research papers, abstracts and book chapters.

Brouwer is a co-inventor of B-CLEAR® (U.S. Patent No. 6,780,580), an in vitro method to assess hepatic uptake, excretion, and biliary clearance that correlates with in vivo data. This technology has been exclusively licensed from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill to Qualyst, Inc. Brouwer is a Qualyst founder and chairs the company’s scientific advisory board.

She served as a member of the NIH Pharmacology Study Section from 1998 to 2002 and is a member of the editorial boards for Drug Metabolism and Disposition, Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics and the AAPS Journal. She was elected an AAPS Fellow in 1998, was recipient of the PHRMA Foundation Award in Excellence in Pharmaceutics in 2001 and received the inaugural Pharmaceutical Sciences Outstanding Graduate Program Alumni Award and the Paul F. Parker Award from the University of Kentucky.


  • Mechanisms of hepatic uptake, translocation and biliary excretion
  • Drug transport
  • Pharmacokinetics
  • Aberrant gastrointestinal drug absorption phenomena
  • Ph.D., University of Kentucky
  • Pharm.D., University of Kentucky
  • B.S., Oregon State University

Kim Brouwer News

  • Kim Brouwer, PharmD, PhD

    Brouwer Appointed Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Education

    Kenan Professor Kim L. R. Brouwer, PharmD, PhD, has been named associate dean of research and graduate education at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy. Angela Kashuba, PharmD, the John A. and Deborah S. McNeill Jr. Distinguished Professor, will succeed … Continued

  • liver graphic

    UNC Uses Liver-Function Model to Solve Mystery of Deadly Diabetes Drug

    Using a computer model developed by the Hamner Institutes for Health Sciences, researchers at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy believe they have solved the mystery of why a diabetes drug introduced in 1997 caused liver failure and death in … Continued

  • Kim Brouwer and Harold Kohn

    Brouwer, Kohn Receive Grants from NC TraCS Institute

    School faculty members Kim Brouwer, PharmD, PhD, and Harold Kohn, PhD, have received $10,000 grants from the North Carolina Translational and Clinical Sciences Institute. Brouwer, a William R. Kenan Jr. Distinguished Professor and chair of the Division of Pharmacotherapy and … Continued

  • Kim Brouwer

    Brouwer Named Oregon State Alumni Fellow

    Kim L. R. Brouwer, PharmD, PhD, was named an Alumni Fellow by Oregon State University at a dinner and awards ceremony on October 29 in Corvallis, Oregon. “Dr. Brouwer remains a Beaver at heart, even with the time spent at … Continued

  • kbrouwer_jun15-directory

    Brouwer Receives Award from Alma Mater

    Kim Brouwer, PhD, the George H. Cocolas Distinguished Professor at the UNC School of Pharmacy, has received the Paul F. Parker Award from the University of Kentucky and the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists. The annual honor recognizes a former … Continued